Seeds | Fresh Peppers | Specials | Cart
All Prices Include Shipping to US Destinations

Flashbang Hot Sauce in Review

Flashbang hot sauce gets my first negative review to date.  It starts off something like this: Oh dear God why?  I do not think this should be called a hot sauce at all, it is an extract that pretends to be a hot sauce.  With that in mind, one positive thing I can say about it is that if you are looking for pure heat to add to your own creations this is one of the most affordable ways to purchase capsicum as a food additive.

The ingredients in part list Carolina Reaper, Scorpion, Jolokia (Ghost), and Habanero peppers.  However, the sauce itself is hotter than any of these peppers because it is made with capsicum extract and that is exactly what you taste.

Although the list of ingredients include traditional hot sauce fixings like tomato paste, vinegar, onion, and garlic, all a person can taste is hot, hot, and more hot.  The ratio of capsicum extract to these other ingredients is just so high that no other flavor came threw for me.

My off the spoon review is: Hell no I am not going to eat that off the spoon. After opening the inner container, the smell was enough to warn me not to put too much of this in my body.  I took one drop from an eye dropper and put the bottle down.  It was just that hot.

Interestingly enough, it seems the sauce may have recently sent a man to the hospital.  Evidently, a tourist was vising the Pepper Palace, sampled Flashbang hot sauce and succumb to seizure.  Although he seems to believe it was flashbang hot sauce that triggered the seizure he also credits it with saving his life.  After being rushed to the hospital, doctors found a potentially fatal medical condition which was later addressed.

Read the full story at Daily News

Where to Buy

Buy from the makers at Pepper Palace

Please tell your friends.
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

17 comments for “Flashbang Hot Sauce in Review

  1. August 9, 2015 at 11:06 pm

    I tried flashbang, is there anything hotter? I keep hearing of a mysterious 16,000.000.00 scollville hot sauce, I’m interested on knowing what it, so I can try, iv ate everything , flashbang is only 3,500.000.00 it ain’t bad it gets you sweating alittle, its good but I’m interested in this mysterious 16,000.000.00 sauce, what’s it called?

    • A.J. Drew
      August 10, 2015 at 3:50 am

      Hi Charles, there is no 16,000,000 shu hot sauce because at 16,000,000 shu it would not be a sauce at all. That is the rating of pure capsaicin crystals. In fact, the shu scale is based on dry material so measuring hot sauces by shu is kind of misleading because there is no account of how much water was extracted to create the dried material being tested.

      That said, the sauce you are thinking of is Blair’s 16 Million Reserve which is not actually a sauce despite so many people calling it that. 999 were made. Each was a tiny vial of pharmaceutical grade crystals, not a sauce.

      Since pure crystals are readily available, I have no idea why but Blair’s 16 Million reserve sells for a fortune second hand and at auctions. All I can figure is it is the rarity of how few were made.

      BTW: I am not sure if the tiny bottle is enough to kill a person, but I think it is fairly close.

  2. mike
    November 17, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    I tried it – no big deal

  3. Billy
    July 26, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    Bought some today after being told by the salesman it was twice as hot as a Carolina reaper… not impressed.

    • A.J. Drew
      July 28, 2016 at 10:35 pm

      Saying a liquid is twice as hot as a pepper is just silly. Peppers are measured by shu in a system where only the dry material is used. You can not claim a shu number on a liquid.

      • Mikr
        September 6, 2016 at 11:48 pm

        Yes you can. Scoville is heat. Doesn’t matter if it’s paste, liquid, dehydrated, frozen, pickled, etc. Get your facts straight you mother F$&%#er

        • A.J. Drew
          September 7, 2016 at 12:54 am

          Mikr, you seem a bit hostile. Factually speaking, the SKU scale tops at 16 million, which is pure capsicum in a dry state. The simplest of google searches will show that SHU is a measurement of dry material only.

          As the simplest of google searching will indicate this information, I suggest your hostility comes from some other source. I wish you well with identifying that that source and having it treated in the hopes of leading a more contented and productive life.

          • Jeff
            November 22, 2016 at 1:29 am

            It’s capsaicin, not capsicum. Capsicum is the genus of all peppers (chili, bell, etc.). Capsaicin is the chemical compound which makes chili/habanero/etc. peppers hot.

            Also, what you’re saying about Scoville Heat Units only applying to dry products is also incorrect:

            http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/how-hot-is-that-pepper-how-scientists-measure-spiciness-884380/
            http://chemistry.about.com/od/foodcookingchemistry/a/Scoville-Scale.htm

          • A.J. Drew
            November 22, 2016 at 1:58 am

            On SHU being measured, the links you provided state you are wrong.

            “To perform the Scoville Organoleptic Test, an alcohol extract of capsaicin oil from a dried pepper is mixed…” – From the second link. Perhaps you might try reading your references before you use them to argue. I guess a person could average a hot sauce by dehydrating it, measuring it, and then expressing it something like X SHU per Fluid Ounce. But SHU is definitely a measurement of a dry substance as your reference states.

            On my mixing up words, ever since a traumatic brain injury ended my long standing career as a professional author. I have a condition called aphasia. In type, it manifests by my inability to remember the difference between ‘there’ and ‘their’ or ‘super’ and ‘supper’. Sometimes it is the look of a word, sound of a word, or other things that associate the two. I once told my wife she was running around like a chicken Mcnugget rather than a chicken with its head cut off.

  4. Jeff
    November 22, 2016 at 11:30 am

    Let me try one more time; I think you read what you wanted to read out of those links. The original test (the Scoville Organoleptic Test, developed by Wilbur Scoville in 1912) relies on taking a liquid containing capsaicin and diluting it with water until the ‘heat’ can no longer be tasted. The amount of water required to reach that point is used to come up with the Scoville heat rating. Specifically, if you start with 1 ml of capsaicin-containing liquid, every 1 ml of added water required to reach a ‘tasteless’ solution equals 1 Scoville Heat Unit (SHU).

    Now the problem with this test is that it relies on a human subject to determine when the liquid is no longer ‘hot’. Different people have different tolerances for spiciness.This is why a chromatography test was developed (by the American Spice Trade Association, mentioned in one of the links above). It measures the exact amount of capsaicin (and other ‘heat-producing’ chemicals) in the liquid. Much more reliable.

    As to wet vs. dry: both the original test developed by Scoville and the more modern chromatography measurements rely on a liquid. This is not to say that you can’t also test a dry compound (like an actual hot pepper). In the case of a pepper, the pepper is first dried and ground then mixed with alcohol. The resulting liquid is what’s used to perform the test.

    Sorry to hear about your aphasia… you write quite well, I would have never guessed.

    • A.J. Drew
      November 22, 2016 at 5:21 pm

      On aphasia, thank you for the kind words. Its been ten years since the brain injury and I much prefer my new life as a farmer. The only thing that bothers me today are when I run into officers at rest areas. They often think I am drunk.

      On SHU: Alcohol was involved in the original test, but it is a measurement of a dry solid.

      “Since Scoville ratings are defined per unit of dry mass, comparison of ratings between products having different water content can be misleading” – from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scoville_scale#Scoville_organoleptic_test

      I could provide quotes all day, but I have a much better idea. Join a forum called TheHotPepper.com and look up a member by the name of OneTom2Go. He works at South West Biolabs where he measures SHU content. When hot sauce companies use SHU to describe their liquid product, it amounts to fraud.

      • Jeff
        November 24, 2016 at 10:31 am

        The section of your Wikipedia quote that you failed to include: “For example, typical fresh chili peppers have a water content around 90 percent, whereas Tabasco sauce has a water content of 95 percent.[7] For law-enforcement-grade pepper spray, values from 500,000 up to 1 million SHU have been mentioned,[8] but the actual strength of the spray depends on the dilution, which could vary by a factor of 10.[9]”

        All your quote is saying is that dilution is important to take into account before claiming an overall SHU value for your hot sauce (or pepper spray or whatever liquid you’re attempting to measure). You can’t just say “all Tabasco sauces are 500 000 SHU”. A Tabasco sauce that’s 80% water will have a different SHU rating than one that’s 90% water, even when they are made with the same ingredients: there’s a different amount of capsaicin (and other heat-producing chemicals) per unit volume.

        I think I’ll leave it there… you’re clearly not going to be convinced otherwise. Your arguments are exhibiting confirmation bias: you’re ignoring facts that don’t support your argument and misinterpreting others in ways that fit your viewpoint (that puzzle piece doesn’t really go here, but if I lean on it hard enough, it’ll fit!).

        I do appreciate the polite responses though. Arguments can be civil! I’ll go check out TheHotPepper.com.

        • A.J. Drew
          November 25, 2016 at 10:57 pm

          Why would I not be polite? However, you remain wrong and it is rather easy to see by applying simple math functions. One ounce of pure crystals is rated at 16 million SHU. One pound of pure crystal is rated at 16 million SHU. In SHU there is absolutely no respect to either mass or volume. Thus it would be impossible to use SHU alone to reflect dilution. I suppose you could say X SHU / fluid ounce to indicate that if you dehydrated a fluid ounce, the dried substance has X SHU per fluid ounce. But simply claiming a liquid has an SHU doesn’t work.

          As far as interpreting something to fit my viewpoint, no it is how I came to my viewpoint. By having a discussion with the man at South West Biolabs that rated the SHU on peppers I grew. You know, a degreed professional who measures SHU for a living.

          • A.J. Drew
            November 25, 2016 at 11:25 pm

            Thought of another way to explain. Pure capsaicin has an SHU of 16 million. It does not matter if that is an ounce or a pound. SHU is a measurement of a dry material. No matter how much capsaicin you dissolve into any volume of liquid, if you were to dry that liquid out and measure what remains it would still rate at 16 million SHU.

  5. Josue Alcocer
    January 4, 2017 at 7:15 pm

    Fellas I’m dying right now, I told my friends 2 drops and they poured 10 fucking drops!! HELPPPPP

  6. Michelle Coons
    March 19, 2017 at 7:05 pm

    I do have to say this is one killer hot sauce, I dipped my finger in it and tasted it, and it SET MY THROAT ON FIRE. It tasted pretty good over all but it’s majorly hot. I don’t exactly remember how many scollville units were in it but it’s pretty darn hot.

  7. Phil Chouinard
    October 29, 2017 at 2:41 pm

    I’ve been following the increase in popularity of capsaicin-related stories for over 25 years. I have a number of traditional hot sauces (i.e. flavor backed with heat) as well as extract “sauces” (i.e. heat backed with some flavor). Saying “I do not think this should be called a hot sauce at all, it is an extract that pretends to be a hot sauce.” is a good statement. There may be a few who use it in that application, but this stuff serves more of a gimmick purpose than as a hot sauce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *